Posted by: tinksinchile | July 13, 2010

11 Days

I would like to say that this won’t be the last post I write in Chile, but it just might be.  I can feel the craziness looming as our last week approaches us, so I don’t know if I’ll find time to write again.  I will definitely post a few more times Stateside to update people on our new location, address, etc.  But then this blog will come to an end.   I’ve really enjoyed blogging my thoughts to share with all of you.  It´s made me feel closer to you knowing you read it.   Perhaps I will start another blog once we return and get things settled, or maybe we’ll just wait to start another one  once the little ones come about.  (Which isn’t anytime in the too near future.  Don’t get any ideas moms!)

The last month has been full of adventure!  We went to San Pedro de Atacama for a long weekend right after Zach´s birthday.  Like every trip we’ve taken here, it was amazing.  Super beautiful.  We felt like we were watching a movie the whole time, because things this stunning don’t really exist in real life right?  Just in movies like Lord of the Rings.  Here’s a small sample:



Then as I mentioned in the last post, for the Fourth we went skiing in the Andes.  Zach had skied several times before and managed to get his bearings quite well.  I, on the other hand, not so much.  It was my first time.  Granted, everyone told me this was a horrible place to try to learn to ski.  No bunny slopes, no trees.  So I took a very short lesson, and then proceeded to fall and slide down one of the slopes in all types of contorted positions that your joints shouldn’t experience regularly.  Might have shed a few tears, I’m not going to lie, promptly took my skis off and had a coffee while Zach finished skiing his brains out.  I am really thankful Zach did not break or pull something, because if you know Zach, his nickname is kamikaze.  He likes to think he still has the body of a 10-year-old, and he definitely still has the energy.

Our flight leaves on the evening of the 22nd.  We have a few things to wrap up here.  My last day at my job is Thursday and Zach’s is next Tuesday.  A few parties left.  Then trying to fit a year of our lives into four suit  cases and two carry-ons.  Delta flight 146 here we come!


Responses

  1. So glad you and Zach had this opportunity, such wonderful memories for a lifetime were made! I won’t lie though, glad you are coming back stateside. 🙂
    This blog has been a terrific way for you to share with all of us! Thanks,
    Ann

  2. Wow, pretty amazing that the time is winding down so quickly. I’m glad you kept this blog. I wonder if you print it out or save it, what your 20 or 25 year old daughter would think reading it sometime in the future 🙂

    Well Amy Tinklerator, enjoy every last day and party and moment with everyone. I’m excited for you and Zach and a new chapter of life to unfold.

  3. Thank you both so much for reading the blog! It’s been a great way for me to put into words what I’ve (kinda we’ve) been feeling…the good, the bad, and the adventurous.

    Jenny, we are definitely going to do something with the blog. It’s nice that blogs are all virtual and cool and people can read it no matter where they are all over the word, but there is just something about printed, tangible text. We’re thinking of making a coffee table book or something of that nature out of it with a lot more pictures of course.

    Love!


Leave a comment

Categories